Hajj 2014

Hajj (Arabic: حج‎) means to desire or to wish; desire to visit a holy place Ka’aba.

In order to achieve closeness to Allah and to achieve His satisfaction, performing some rituals on fixed date and time at fixed place with uniform with some other rules is called Hajj.

When is Hajj in 2014?

In 2014, according to Gregorian calendar, Hajj will start on Thursday the 2nd October and will end on Tuesday the 7th October.

When is Hajj

According to Islamic calendar, Hajj dates are fixed for each year. Hajj starts on 8th Zul-Hijjah and ends on 10th Zul-Hijjah as per Islamic calendar.

Where is Hajj

Hajj is held in Macca, Saudi Arabia. This is the fixed place for Hajj each year. Muslims gather here every year to perform the Hajj. Ka’aba in Macca is the main place for Hajj. However, Arafat and Meena are also some nearby places where pilgrims need to travel to fulfill all the rituals of Hajj.

Significance of hajj

Hajj is one of the main five pillars of Islam. Hajj is compulsory (Farz) on the part of all healthy, adult and capable Muslim male and female once in their lifetime. Hajj is compulsory for those people who have got the physical ability to go to Macca and capable to bear the cost of the journey after meeting their family expenses till their return.

Ka’aba is known as the House of Allah, one of the oldest prayer houses of the world. Ka’aba is the center for reunion of Muslim community. The occasion of Hajj rightly is called the annual international Muslim Assembly. Hajj is the glaring example of Muslim unity and brotherhood.

Hajj is performed with white cloths with no stitches. This is called Ihram. This indicates that all people in the world are equal to Allah. This white cloth also reminds the days after death where people will be buried covered with white cloths with no stitches.

The Farz (Compulsory duties) of Hajj

There are three Farz acts of Hajj. Farz means compulsory duties

  1. Wearing Ihram – The first Farz in Hajj is to wear Ihram. Ihram is intention to perform Hajj or Umrah. Ihram is to wear seamless white cloths. No colored dress or perfume is allowed. Hair, beard or nail should not be cut. No ornaments are to be used. One has to keep away from all types of enjoyments.
  2. Wakuf or staying – The second Farz work of Hajj is Wakuf or staying at the field of Arafat on 9th Zul-Hijjah.
  3. Tawaf-e-Ziarat – The third Fazr of Hajj is Ziarat. One has to perform the Twaf (moving around the holy Ka’aba) from 10th to 12th Zul-Hijjah. This moving around is called Tawaf-e-Ziarat. Twaf can be performed in any one day out of these three days but Twaf in first day is better.

Hajj is performed doing the Farz duties along with some other rituals that are carried out throughout 8th Zul-Hijjah to 10th Zul-Hijjah.